Western has seven Blues in waiting

Western has seven Blues in waiting

The strength of Western Rams as a Rugby League nursery has been highlighted in the recent announcement of Laurie Daley’s Blues in Waiting squad.

Seven products of Western clubs were named in Daley’s squad to attend a camp from January 18 to 20, specifically aimed at preparing New South Wale’s best emerging talent to make the step up to Origin.

Among the squad is Orange junior Jack Wighton, who already has had a taste of the NRL, playing 9 top grade games for the Canberra Raiders this year.

Joining Wighton in camp is Cowra Magpies junior Josh Rainbow along with five of the stars from Western Rams under 18s rep program over thepast two years.

St George Illawarra trio Charly Runciman (Dubbo Junior), Sam Coster (Parkes and Trundle Junior), Jacob Neill (Nyngan Junior) and Penrith Panther Toby Evans (Parkes Junior) were all part of the Western Rams victorious AAMI under 18s Country Championship title in 2011.

Joining the 2011 Rams will be the 2012 Western and Country front rower Jake Goodwin, who has linked with the Cronulla Sharks.

A West Wyalong junior, Goodwin attended Red Bend Catholic College in high school, playing juniors with the Blues then under 18s with Forbes Magpies for the past two seasons.

Laurie Daley Blues in waiting squad

Mitchell Cornish, Jack Wighton (Canberra – Orange Jnr); Adam Elliott, Danny Fualolo, David Klemmer, Leilani Latu, David Minute, Ryan Wilson (Canterbury); Jake Goodwin (Cronulla-Red Bend), Michael Lichaa, Josh Rainbow (Cronulla-Cowra), Jake Walsh, Luke Bartley, Jacob Gagan, Fabian Goodall, Clinton Gutherson, Jake Trbojevic (Manly); Dean Britt, Richard Kennar (Melbourne); Adam Clydsdale, Jackson Hill, Jake Lawrence, Pat Mata’Utia, Ben Roose, Tom Rouse, Michael Steele, Kurt Warden (Newcastle)Frazer Masinamua, Ryan Matterson, Chad McGill, Kelepi Tanginoa, Vai Toutai, James Tuitahi (Parramatta); Nathan Aubusson, Bryce Cartwright, Toby Evans (Penrith-Parkes), Zac Mackay, James Roberts (Penrith); Aaron Gray, Jackson Garlick, Tyrone Phillips (South Sydney); Andrew Chard, Sam Coster (St George Illawarra – Parkes/Trundle , Shannon Crook, Evander Cummins, Craig Garvey, Jacob Neill (St George Illawarra – Nyngan), Charly Runcima(St George Illawarra – Dubbo); Samisi Langi, Clarrie Moore(Roosters), Luke Brooks, Kyle Lovett, Mitchell Moses, David Nofoaluma, Brendan Santi, Curtis Sironen (Tigers)